Yeadon's of Elgin Named Scottish Independent Bookshop of the Year 2009

The staff and management of Yeadon's of Elgin are delighted to announce that their bookshop has reached the final shortlist of five for British Book Industry Independent Bookshop of the Year, 2009, being named Scottish Independent Bookshop of the Year, 2009 in the process. The British Book Industry Awards - known as The Nibbies - will be presented at an award ceremony on 1st June 2009 at the Book Industry Conference in Cambridge.

Vicky Dawson, Director of Retail, said, "I am very proud of both of my shops and both of my teams - they both deserve this award. However, Yeadon's of Elgin being Scottish Independent Bookshop of the Year will really put the shop on the bookselling map. This is a very exciting development in the story of this beautiful bookshop."

One of Scotland's oldest continuously trading bookshops, Yeadon's of Elgin - with its sister shop Yeadons of Banchory - was rescued from near bankruptcy in May 2007 by Hugh Andrew, Managing Director of Scotland's leading independent publisher, Birlinn Ltd.

Hugh Andrew, Managing Director of Birlinn Ltd., said, "I am delighted that the efforts put into building Scottish bookshops for their communities have been recognised in this way. My congratulations go to Vicky and her team at Elgin."

Yeadon's has already garnered praise, being named one of the UK's Top 50 Bookshops by The Independent and one of the north's best bookshops by The Scotsman. Both shops have vibrant events programmes, hosting authors such as Alexander McCall Smith and Kate Adie as well as more local talent, including Shona McLean, Charlie Allan and Derek Flory. In 2009 Yeadon's will begin publishing its own titles, reviving a tradition which ran between the 1880s and 1940s. Both shops stock a wide range of books and stationery and offer an ordering service.